Blackheath Bluecoat School © 2013 All Rights Reserved

Home. Contact. Greenwich Blue Coat School 1700. School Archives Introduction. St John's National Schools. Blackheath & Kidbrook Schools. Blackheath Bluecoat School . Site Map. Blue Coat School

A history of Blackheath Bluecoat School


Home. Contact. Greenwich Blue Coat School 1700. School Archives Introduction. St John's National Schools. Blackheath & Kidbrook Schools. Blackheath Bluecoat School . Site Map. 1700
~
2014
 Welcome

Blackheath Bluecoat School is a school with a long and interesting history.  It incorporates the Greenwich Girls’ Blue Coat School, founded as a charity school in 1700, St John’s National Church of England School, the first Church School in the Blackheath area opened in 1854 and the Blackheath & Kidbrooke National Church of England School, which opened in 1911. Unfortunately Greenwich Council have decided to close the school in July 2014. This site documents the fascinating history of the school.

C of E School

1700 Blue Coat Girls’ School founded in Greenwich

1854 St John’s National C of E School opened in Russell Place


1911 Blackheath & Kidbrooke C of E School opened in Old Dover Road


1959 Blue Coat Girls’ School and Blackheath & Kidbrooke School amalgamate to form Blackheath & Bluecoat School

1973 New enlarged buildings open

2009 Blackheath Bluecoat School in federation with Saint Cecilia’s Wandsworth

2014 Blackheath Bluecoat School to close

Time Line

Blackheath Bluecoat School Web Site

History at a glance - summary

Greenwich Blue Coat Foundation (Bluecoat Trust) Click here . . .

FINALE

Pictured after the Service of Thanksgiving on 21 June 2014
(from left to right) Barnaby Ash (Headteacher), The Rev’d Lix Newman (School Chaplain), Emmanuel Ogunsola (Head Boy), The Rt Rev’d Dr Michael Ipgrave OBE (Bishop of Woolwich), Dr Peter van der Merwe MBE, DL (Deputy Lieutenant of London, Queen’s representative)